NEA Jazz Masters
 Golden Ear Awards Archive
2012 Golden Ear Awards
2011 Golden Ear Awards
2010 Golden Ear Awards
2009 Golden Ear Awards
2008 Golden Ear Awards
2007 Golden Ear Awards
2006 Golden Ear Awards
Programming Support
provided by...

Golden Ear Awards Ballot
Due March 3, 2014

Awards Ceremony scheduled for March 10, 7 pm at The Royal Room.
Music at 7, Industrial Revelation
Awards Presentation at 8, emcee Jim Wilke
More Music at 9

Admission $10. Tickets go on sale February 24.

Each year, the Golden Ear Awards recognize and celebrate the outstanding achievements of the previous year in Seattle jazz. In the process, Seattle jazz fans and performers can take stock of and show gratitude for the regionís vibrant jazz ecology. The awards are determined by a combination of nominations and popular vote. Nominees this year were selected by a poll of Earshot Jazz readers, jazz performers, audience members, journalists and industry professionals. There are eight Golden Ear Award categories, including induction into the Seattle Jazz Hall of Fame.

Please vote today using one of the following methods:
1) Online by submitting the form below, or
2) Send an email with your choices to, or
3) Print a pdf file of the ballot and fax to 206-547-6286 or mail to the Earshot Jazz office at 3429 Fremont Place N, #309, Seattle WA, 98103.

One ballot per person.

2014 NW Recording of the Year:

Steve Treseler, Center Song
Eugenie Jones, Black Lace Blue Tears
B'shnorkestra, Go to Orange
Jim Knapp's Scrape, Approaching Vyones

2013 NW Acoustic Jazz Ensemble:

Jacob Zimmerman Quintet
Royal Room Collective Music Ensemble
Jay Thomas and the Cantaloupes

2013 NW Alternative Jazz Group:

Industrial Revelation
The Westerlies
The Suffering F#ckheads

2013 NW Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year:

Evan Flory-Barnes
D’Vonne Lewis
Cuong Vu
Thomas Marriott

2013 Emerging Artist or Group:

Kate Olson
Jacques Willis
Tim Kennedy
Jacob Zimmerman

2013 NW Vocalist of the Year:

Johnaye Kendrick
Eugenie Jones
Stephanie Porter
Rochelle House

2013 NW Concert of the Year:

Nonaah by Roscoe Mitchell, Nordstrom Recital Hall, June 7
Dave Douglas Quintet / The Westerlies, Earshot Jazz Festival, October 12
Hardcoretet / Industrial Revelation / Skerik Trio, The Comet, January 25
Evan Flory-Barnes, Moment Magnitude Series, Frye Museum, January 10

Seattle Jazz Hall of Fame Nominees
(see below for a list of people already inducted)

Bert Wilson
Bill Frisell
Bob Hammer
Jay Clayton


The Seatle Jazz Hall of Fame


Ernestine Anderson, Al Hood, Chuck Metcalf, Floyd Standifer


Buddy Catlett, Don Lanphere


Jabo Ward, Jim Wilke


Fred Greenwell, Melody Jones


Clarence Acox, Bud Young


Jerome Gray
1996 Norm Bobrow, William O. (Bill) Smith
1997 Lola Pedrini, Bill Ramsay
1998 Jan Stentz, Leon Vaughn
1999 Vonne Griffin, Red Kelly
2000 Bud Shank, Chuck Stentz
2001 John Dimitriou, Julian Priester
2002 Paul de Barros, Ken Wiley
2003 Ronnie Pierce, Jay Thomas
2004 Gaye Anderson, Hadley Caliman, Robert Knatt
2005 Gary Steele, Mack Waldron, Woody Woodhouse
2006 Jim Knapp, KPLU
2007 John Bishop, Dean Hodges
2008 Phil Sparks, KBCS 91.3 FM
2009 Marc Seales, Stuart Dempster
2010 Chuck Deardorf, Wayne Horvitz
2011 Overton Berry, Jeff Johnson, Jovino Santos Neto
2012 Scott Brown, Dave Peck